Why Is This Still Not Resolved?

Hello Everyone,

So today I was walking to the train station and I look over to the stand where I pick up my Red Eye Newspaper and I see a familiar cover. It’s the LGBT flag all over the cover. Why is this still a discussion? Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not frustrated because I’m against it, quite the opposite, I’m frustrated because I’m for it. I just can’t wrap my head around why you could be against it. I just can’t. What is so difficult about people accepting two people who love each other to get married. Isn’t that what marriage is supposed to be? Two people who love each other making a commitment to each other. Does it matter if it’s a man and a woman, man and man, or woman and woman. No it shouldn’t. Also I’m not sure how that affects your life.

Furthermore, Gays are some of the best people I’ve ever met. I mean that in the sense that not only are they amazing friends, they are kind, strong people. I mean think about it, they have to deal with all this prejudice society throws at them, they have to be strong. And they are some of the most positive and happy people I know. They are just like you and me, they just want to be with the person they love. Yet, we are keeping them all from it. Not really fair is it? I mean, think about when you read or watched Romeo & Juliet. Did you get angry when they couldn’t be together because of their family issues? This is very similar. They want to be together, but because of laws & society they can’t. That should enrage you as much as it did with Romeo & Juliet. It sure as heck makes me mad. 

Also in the article they go over a few topics and how gay marriage affects them. Of course, it wouldn’t be complete without the subject of children. Now I will admit to this, I don’t know anyone that comes from gay parents, so my view would be based off the gays I do know and how I know they would make amazing parents. The article mentions that adopted kids usually end up as troubled kids, but apparently more so if they come from gay parents. Okay, this makes me very very angry. You know why these kids end up like that, I can guarantee you very little of it has to do with the parents that lovingly adopted them. Isn’t it a general thing that being abandoned by your real parents messes with your head? So wouldn’t that be the real problem. Or let’s talk about the bullying these kids would get. Yes because then the other afflictions he would have would be from the other people that prejudice against their parents. I mean so then shouldn’t we be trying to end the prejudice and not the right for them to get married? Because really, let’s be honest, the problem is society’s prejudiced view on gay parents that is really affecting them. Also please explain to me how does being adopted by gay parents differ than being adopted by a heterosexual couple? They are both sets of parents that lovingly adopted a kid to raise as their own. Oh right, there is no difference except you get one more dad or one more mom. Also I don’t see people comparing the number of divorces heterosexual parents have and how that affects their children. Or how kids who grow up in bad neighborhoods or to an unsafe, unhappy environment sometimes don’t turn out so great. Yet they have heterosexual parents, so it’s okay. No one is perfect, but you have no right to decide who gets to do what with their life. 

So, I mean, people its 2013, shouldn’t we be past all this? Shouldn’t we just love everyone the way they are? Shouldn’t we just let people marry who they want? Who are we to make an opinion on someone else’s love life. I mean even with our own friends we don’t exactly know how their relationships go, so how the heck are we entitled to pass judgement on people we don’t eve know.

Having gay friends, I only wish them the same happiness I am allowed. That is all. I can understand older people having a harder time to adjust to it because it’s not what they grew up with. But I am always in complete shock when I hear of young people so opposed to it. Are you allowed to have your own opinions? Sure you are, as long as you don’t impose those on others. 

What did make me happy was to read how the numbers are increasing, and how very soon we will be allowing anyone to get married to who they want. Yes, I did not say ‘if’ because I know humanity will prevail and we will stop being the close-minded people stopping people from being happy.

So, I just wanted to share with you all my frustration as I read this article. It’s just about time that we are all happy. 

Much love always,

xx

I’m Straight but not Narrow 

Leave a Reply

