To Quote or Not To Quote

Hey Guys,

So last week with the holidays I really didn’t have time to write a post! I’m sorry!! But I hope you all had lots to eat, I know I at least gained ten pounds from Thanksgiving Day alone, haha. But now that vacation time is over and we’re back to work things are still hectic, obviously. So today’s post is late but better late than never. But going through my notebook I found a really good page I wanted to post on here.

Sometimes you look for quotes to live by, or just good solid quotes to have around to look at or inspire you. Or even sometimes you come across a quote and you’re like “wow, this quote gets me, it’s me!” Well in one of my periods of intense reading, where I don’t put down a book, I wrote down some quotes from the books I had just read. So if you’ve been searching for the perfect quote, maybe this will help. I’ve also included my interpretation of the quotes, but you could read them in an entirely different way. If you do, please let me know what you think! 🙂

Teen Wolf

“Be your own anchor.”

(Often we find other people to be our rocks/anchors, but sometimes you have to be your own rock. Own up to your Strength.)

Ed Sheeran

“Love will come and love will go but you make it your own.” 

(People fall in love all the time and no two loves are the same. You shape the feeling of love to the person you are with and that’s a beautiful thing. It means every love is unique.)

If I Stay

“Sometimes you make choices in life, and sometimes choices make you.” 

(There is only so much you can control in life, and sometimes things happen that you can’t explain. ‘choices make you’ = everything happens for a reason and sometimes its within your control and sometimes it is not.)

The Fault In Our Stars (Be prepared for SEVERAL quotes, it’s a perfect book what do you expect?)

“Pain demands to be felt.”

(If we don’t take in the pain we don’t appreciate the good in the world.)

“Okay? Okay.”

(Its a classic from the book)

“I found my wish.”

(There are many things in life we wish for. In this case he never realized until he met her his true wish was to be in love with Hazel. Once he met her he knew.)

“As he read, I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly and then all at once.”

(Another classic. But this one is just so sweet to think that’s exactly how you fall in love. At first you are scared to truly love someone, but once you get over the fear you fall in completely and fully.)

“I’m in love with you and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things. I’m in love with you and I know that love is just a shot into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable and we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have and I am in love with you.” 

(I think this one is self explanatory. But in case you need a little summary here it is: tell someone you love them. One day we will all be gone and even though saying I love you are just words, SAY THEM WHEN YOU MEAN THEM!)

“Sometimes it seems the universe wants to be noticed.” 

(The world is a beautiful place and sometimes things happen so that you take a moment to really look at how beautiful this place really is.)

“Our little infinity.”

(When you love someone your time together is yours and only yours, and it’s a beautiful thing. And that time will live in your heart forever.)

“You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world, but you do have some say in who hurts you.”

(Getting hurt is inevitable, but believe it or not you do get a choice.)

Harry Potter

“It is our choices, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.” 

(Even if you are not perfect at something, the heart behind it that made you choose that option says a lot about the kind of person you are.)

“Happiness can be found in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.” 

(This one I’ve applied to my own life many times. There is ALWAYS a bright side to things, sometimes you just have to dig for it.)

Divergent

“A brave man acknowledges the strength of the other.” 

(Being brave does not mean you are the strongest. It’s knowing that you may not be the strongest but still deciding to fight for what you believe in.)

“We believe in ordinary acts of bravery, in the courage that drives one person to stand up for another.”

(…Need I say more?)

“Be brave.”

(Always fight for what you believe in. Even if all the odds are against you.)

“Becoming fearless isn’t the point. That’s impossible. It’s learning how to control your fear and how to be free from it.” 

(It is human to have fears. But you need to learn to accept them, control as much as you can so that that fear doesn’t inhibit you.)

“He is smart and brave and even though he saved me, he treated me like I was strong.”

(Four is one of my all time favorite male leads in a book for one simple reason: he protected Tris while still letting her fight her own fight. He helped her stand on her own two feet and be strong not for him but for herself. I must find a man like Four in this world.)

“Fear doesn’t shut you down, it wakes you up.”

(I love this about Tris. She lets the fear give her adrenaline.)

“I want to be brave and selfless and smart and kind and honest.” 

(A good human being is a combination of all the best things the factions had to offer. Four strives to live by this and so do I.)

“Like a wild animal, the truth is too powerful to remain caged.” 

(The truth always comes out, so always tell the truth.)

So I hope these have been inspiring, helpful or just fun to read. If you guys liked this kind of post let me know and I will try to do more of these in the future.

Much love always,

xx

Leave a Reply

