I Still Get Jealous

Hey Hey Everyone,

Typically anything is fair game in this blog, so I decided I’d talk about a specific song today.

This song is the best to jam out to in the car. And it wasn’t until today that I listened to it intently and was like: “This is the first song to truly explain this feeling correctly.” Now, I’m not late to the loving it party but it did take me a few listens to love it. And now every time I listen to it, I belt it out. You definitely have heard this song on the radio, and it’s by a boy who used to be in a band of brothers. That’s right I’m talking about Jealous by the one and only Nick Jonas. So let’s review the song, shall we?

Jealous

I don’t like the way he’s looking at you
I’m starting to think you want him too
Am I crazy, have I lost ya?
Even though I know you love me, can’t help it

Okay, we can all relate to getting jealous of your partner and automatically getting crazy thoughts in our head. But it’s not to say that in reality they actually love you any less. It’s just that situation where someone is looking at your partner and for a split second you’re like “Oh no, why is he/she looking at her/him like that? Does he/she not like me anymore? AHHH” But it only lasts a few seconds, while the jealousy might last a little longer.

I turn my chin music up
And I’m puffing my chest
I’m getting red in the face
You can call me obsessed

So now you’re getting a bit pissed, and to a girl, it’s kind of hot. It’s not hot when you get stupid and want to punch every single man in the room, that’s annoying and actually very much of a turn off. But when you get a little flustered about another guy looking at us, it just shows us how much you like us. (Unless you’re a crazy possessive man in which case, BYE!) And I wouldn’t call you obsessed just that you like me and want to protect your lady.

It’s not your fault that they hover
I mean no disrespect
It’s my right to be hellish
I still get jealous

And even when you’re getting pissed, you know it’s not our fault we be so sexy! But you also acknowledge it’s your right to be a little mad and jealous. And, honestly, we’re totally okay with it. As long as it’s not often and psychotic.

(2x) ‘Cause you’re too sexy, beautiful
And everybody wants a taste
That’s why (that’s why)
I still get jealous 

Aw thanks for telling us we are beautiful. You can thank our mommas for that. Wow, you really think we’re SO pretty that everyone wants us? So sweet.

I wish you didn’t have to post it all
I wish you’d save a little bit just for me
Protective or possessive, yeah
Call it passive or aggressive

Okay, now you’re bordering the not-so-nice line. I post what I want! But it’s sweet you would like me to keep a little bit more just for the two of us. (Although to be honest, this one wouldn’t apply to me because I am more conservative and tend to be careful with what I post.) A little protective never hurt no one. But possessive, no thanks. You can either be passive or aggressive, or passive aggressive. Either way, In the heat of the moment a lot is being thought and said. So I think it still reflects well how some people can be misconstrued as certain labels.

I turn my chin music up
And I’m puffing my chest
I’m getting red in the face
You can call me obsessed
It’s not your fault that they hover
I mean no disrespect
It’s my right to be hellish
I still get jealous

Again being a little jealous is okay.

(2x) ‘Cause you’re too sexy, beautiful
And everybody wants a taste
That’s why (that’s why)
I still get jealous

Thanks 🙂

You’re the only one invited
I said there’s no one else for you
‘Cause you know I get excited, yeah
When you get jealous too

So that is my ideal man. One who gets a little jealous when other guys look at me. But who are also okay with  me getting a little jealous if I see other girls looking at him. And that actually has the same affect on me as it does on him.

The rest of the song is the same few choruses over and over again. But basically I think that this song reflects well how a relationship should be.  It’s healthy to get a little jealous and a little protective. It adds a little bit of spice to the relationship and also assures your partner that you truly want them there and can’t imagine them leaving you. But like everything else in this world, too much of it is a bad a thing. Too jealous could often mean possessive and that typically isn’t a fair or healthy relationship. So be jealous in moderation. And next time you get a little jealous of a guy looking at your girl, or a girl looking at your guy, give your partner a little hint and don’t blow it up into a fight. Just let them know that it bothers you if someone else is flirting with them because you want them all to yourself. So go spread the love!

Have a great day!

Much love always,

xx

Leave a Reply

