Dear Future Husband

Dear Future Husband,

I love you. I hope I tell you that often, because I really do. I hope you know how lucky you are to be loved by me. If you know me, that comment doesn’t come off as conceited. By now, you will know how big of a heart I have and to know that I love you with all of it must make you feel pretty special. Hopefully, I have done a little something special for you every single day to show you just how much I love you. I hope you treat me like a queen, because I certainly will treat you like a king. The amount of care that will come your way, will sometimes be more than you could possibly imagine.

I hope we have gone through many adventures together and that we will have many more to come. Hopefully, we both love to travel and that will happen frequently. It’s a beautiful and big world, and I can’t imagine seeing it with anyone else. Make sure we always take pictures and videos to have those memories even when ours fade. But, I also hope we take time to just really take in our surroundings. I hope we make this world a little better, and that we leave our mark. I’ll make sure we make a difference and do our part.

Here’s a strange request: I hope we have gone through bad times. Those bad times will not only make us stronger, but it will show me that no matter what happens in this life I have you by my side always. I hope you hold my hand, because your strong hold of me will let me know that no matter how far I fall you will be there to help me up.

I hope you make me laugh, a lot. Laughter always has been and always be the best medicine. I hope I make you laugh with my ridiculous humor and antics. I can be loud and crazy and spontaneous, I hope you find that endearing. Always join me if I start dancing in public, because we will be able to laugh about it after. A genuine smile on your face will let me know I did something right. I hope I say Thank You for everything you do for me.

We are a team, and we will always be a team. This will be even more true when we get blessed with children. Raising them will be a team effort, one I am confident we will do well. It will be terrifying to know that we will be shaping a human being, but I hope knowing we have each other will make it less scary. If anything is to ever happen to either one of us, I hope the other one tells our kids just how amazing and incredible that parent was. I hope we have plenty of stories of us to embarrass our kids. I hope we raise incredibly kind, fun loving, smart and independent children.

I hope you treat me as an equal. I am a strong independent woman who needs a partner not a master. I hope you know how to interpret me, from the genuine smiles to the worried crinkles on my face. Knowing my mannerisms inside and out means you understand me and that you care. I will always have your back and support you in whatever you want to do. I ask that you do the same for me, regardless of how crazy my endeavors may seem. Embrace my quirks, they are what make me lovable! Know by now, I probably adore your quirks.

If I do have some ridiculous crazy ideas, support me but also help me be realistic. I know I can be a dreamer, and I hope that is something you love about me. And I realize sometimes I might soar too high, I will need you to help me fly a little lower. Never, however, belittle me and my dreams. Putting me down, will undoubtedly result in bad things your way.

I hope we talk. That we talk often, loud, quiet, and about the hard things. Listen to me, even if you don’t care about what I’m saying. Sometimes I just need an ear. Although, I do hope you care about what I will have to say. Please know, your opinion will matter to me just as much as my family’s opinions. I may not always agree with it, but I will always respect it. I talk a lot, as I’m sure you know, but sometimes my silences will speak louder. My silences don’t always mean I’m upset, sometimes I’m just appreciating the moment. I hope we are comfortable in our silence.

Fighting will be inevitable, but promise me we will NEVER go to bed mad. Sometimes I’ll have a short temper and let it out on you when it may not be your fault. Please know, I am sorry to do that to you. But hopefully, you’ll be strong enough to know I just need to blow off steam. I will do my best to be as understanding. When we fight, I promise to do my best to never say anything that will truly hurt you. And if I ever do, please know that will never be my intention. I hope the same goes for you. Seeing you in pain, will hurt me as much as it hurts you. If the fight is not huge, please let me win sometimes. You know how competitive and stubborn I can be, sometimes winning will be good for us, trust me. And as stubborn and competitive as I may be, my compassion will also let you win sometimes. 😉

Trust me the same way I will trust you. I am giving you all of me, please don’t break me. Sometimes I will seem fragile, but by now you should know I am very strong. I may be strong, but I can still break. I will do everything and anything for you. I will always do my best to protect you, but know I will always be honest even if it hurts. I would take a bullet for you any day.

Respect me and my choices the same way I will do for you. Respect the religion I pick to follow. Respect the traditions I follow. Know that I will not only respect, but also embrace your choices and traditions. Our relationship should be built on respect, trust and love.

Understand and embrace my crazy lovable family. They are everything to me, and I hope they mean a lot to you too. I hope by now I have told you wonderful stories about my brother, who I miss dearly. If I ever get sad about him, just hold me. Let me cry and hold me, because I know everything will be alright.

My close friends are important to me too. I hope you know and like them. I will need time with them, even if that means time away from you. Please know, I will give you the same courtesy of spending time with your buddies away from me. It will be important for us to spend time apart, to appreciate the time we have together.

I hope you are strong internally and externally. I hope you are kind and sweet. I hope you are fun and funny. I hope you love dogs, because we all know I am obsessed! I hope you will be a great role model for our kids. I know if I picked you that you will be an incredibly father. I hope you love life as much as I do. I hope you have a good heart. I hope you know what you want, and not afraid to admit it when you don’t. I hope you’re not afraid to break down, because you’ll know I’ll be right there to hold you together. I hope you’re a feminist. I hope you stand up for what you believe in. I hope you can admit it, if you’re lost. (It happens to all of us!) Never be afraid to admit you were wrong. I know I always do.

I hope that together we will both continually grow and learn about ourselves, our relationship and life.

I hope we have an epic love story. One for the books. I hope we met in a memorable way, and that we can tell our kids how life brought us together. I hope our love story is full of laughter, fun, adventures, happiness, hardships, trials, respect, trust and most of all love. (It is called a LOVE story after all!) I hope our friends and family love having us around because we’re the “Cool Couple”! Regardless, we’ll always be cool in our own eyes.

All in all, I just hope you treat me the same way I treat you. And I hope we are genuinely happy, because life is beautiful and should be experienced in love. And just love me. Love me with everything you got, because I will do the same.

With A Lot of Love,

Your Future Wife aka Hopefully the woman of your dreams who isn’t perfect but will love you unconditionally

PS- Will totally be reading this at my rehearsal dinner to see if the guy I decide to spend the rest of my life with,  measures up to this list.

Leave a Reply

