Dadbods Really?

Hello Hello,

So I just read an article that is talking about how the new craze is girls loving “dadbods.”

Listen I am all for the whole man body empowerment too. I think it’s great that we’re talking about something that for the most part is not talked about enough. The talk of body shaming women is all over the place and it’s a constant topic of debate. But male body shaming isn’t talked about as much. So I fully support this girl writing this article all about supporting dadbods.

While I support this topic and think it’s great, it should not be generalized as the preference for all girls. The same way it is unrealistic to expect these perfect bodies on women, it’s also unrealistic to expect washboard abs on men. But that does not mean that we don’t want a fit man. Personally, I’d like a guy who goes the gym as often as I do (3 times a week) but isn’t going to be devastated if we go pick up some junk food or has to skip the gym a day. I by no means expect a perfect body, but I’d like a healthy and fit bodied man.

Her description was of a man who exercises regularly yet isn’t afraid to drink or eat. And I’m absolutely on board with that description, however the pictures they attached to her description, is not at all what I picture. A guy can be unafraid to eat and drink how much ever he wants, but it doesn’t necessarily mean they have a gut or a belly. All I’m saying is a guy can be a regular looking guy without having a belly or a gut. Just like women, guys have a variety of body shapes and sizes that classify what normal looks like.

Bottom line is preference. My preference happens to be a toned and healthy man. He doesn’t need to have the perfect abs or veins popping out of the muscle, because honestly that is not only intimidating but unattractive. I would like a man to care about his appearance and put some effort into keeping himself healthy the same way I do. I am not a health freak or a gym freak, but I like feeling good about myself after a nice work out. And I would love to have my husband be a hottie and still fit after 20 years of marriage. It’s not completely unrealistic as I’ve seen plenty of dads with nice toned bodies. But if it happens that after 20 years he starts getting a dadbod that will make sense because he will be a dad and I’ll be sporting the mom body. So with the logic of “you already get a preview and no surprises” sorry to tell you it probably won’t stay the same. And wouldn’t you want the two of you to grow old together and grow into older bodies together? I know I do.

All in all, men love your bodies too because they are great. If you have the “dadbod” know that there are plenty of girls out there who want you exactly as you are. Guys who go to the gym every single day, there are girls out there for you too. And the guys in between who have a fit body but don’t feel the need to live at the gym, Hi! And guys who have a lot more of you to love, there are plenty of girls out there who would love to cuddle the heck out of you. Whatever your body type, be proud. Know that we don’t expect you to be a male model or be perfect, because your imperfections are exactly what make you relatable and approachable.

Much love always,

xx

Leave a Reply

