Family Time for the Holidays

Hello Hello,

As you read this post, I will probably be in a plane headed to Brazil for the holiday season. This year is particularly exciting for a few reasons. Firstly, this is the first time we will be spending the holidays in my homeland since we moved away from it fourteen years ago. Secondly, we will be with family throughout the whole thing. Thirdly, you tend to experience things differently as an adult. And fourth, we will also be celebrating my great aunt’s 80th Birthday!

The holidays is one of the biggest seasons we promote family, yet most of the time we can’t make it home or we just get too consumed in life and material things to actually appreciate what a gift family really is. Which is why, I am beyond excited to just be with them. I honestly don’t even care about what material things I will be receiving, just getting to be with them for the holidays is the best present I could ask for. And the day couldn’t arrive soon enough.

Also, all of the cousins are grown up, which means how we experience things are a little different. We can go partying without the parents, we can go off and do our own thing without parental supervision. Yet, let’s be honest we will all be acting like children around each other, it’s just what we do.

And 80th birthday is quite a feat. I only hope to grow up to be as wonderful and kind and lively as my great aunt. I mean the woman still goes out dancing every so often on a weekend! I mean age truly is just a number when you are young at heart.

So here is to two weeks of crazy shenanigans with family! To lots of memories and laughs. And most importantly to the abundance of food I will be consuming in the two weeks I will be there. (Y’all think I’m kidding…)

Much love always,

Victoria

Leave a Reply

