Steps of Binge Watching A New Show

Hello Hello,

So I’m not sure how many of you know just how much I love television and movies. And when I’m convinced either by myself or others to start a new show, pacing myself is never an option. And I know many of you out there can relate to binge watching shows. The more I’ve done it, the more I have noticed there are a few steps that happen every time. Let’s review these steps shall we?

1. Excitement

When you decide to watch a new show there is a lot of excitement about what you’re about to start watching. You also can’t wait to finally see what all those trailers were about. And finally you’ll be able to talk to your friends who have been begging you to start watching that show.

2. Sole Focus on the Show

You’re a few episodes in and you’ve been completely sucked in. You can’t think or watch or read anything else. All of your thoughts are dedicated to that show. It’s all you can think about. When you’re not watching it, you are dying to watch it. When you’re out with friends all you want to talk or think about is the show. I have caught myself many a times just staring blankly into space thinking about the show while my friends try to figure out what’s wrong with me. Is it just me?

3. Depression

Every time without fail, I hit the half way point and I just get depressed. Whether it’s because the story isn’t actually true. Or there’s been a lot of tragedy in a short time span. Or maybe I just get overwhelmed with the story. Whatever it may be, I can guarantee that about half way through a show I get seriously down. This usually results in me not watching the show for a few days.

4. Regain excitement

After you hit that slump, you come out on the other end excited again about the show. You’ve officially hit your second wind and are ready to take on all the other episodes just waiting for you to watch them.

5. Post Show Depression

After the show is over, you just don’t know what to do with yourself. If you’re getting caught up on a show still on the air, you now have to be patient and watch every episode week by week. Sometimes you have to wait a few months for the new season (thanks a lot Game of Thrones), and sometimes even years (I’m talking to you Sherlock!).

Do you react the same way I do? Do you go through these phases? What shows have you binge watched? I have binge watched Merlin (one of my all time favorites!), Sherlock, Game of Thrones (highly recommended that you actually take your time, it’s a lot to deal with), and now iZombie. There’s probably a lot more shows that I binge watched, I just can’t remember. However you react when it comes to binge watching, I hope every new show brings something new to your life.

 

Much love always,

xx

Leave a Reply

